Boom1992′s Weblog


Muon GSoC Status Report 2
September 23, 2013, 8:27 pm
Filed under: KDE

In Part 1 I blogged about my progress while creating the Muon-PackageKit-Plugin, now I want to take another step back and share with you what I started my project with. While this has already happened over 3 months ago, we still profit from it.

The subject of this might seem a bit technical, but of course benefits the user in the end: I created an abstraction for system notifiers. (The little program which sits in your systemtray and tells you when your system needs an update.)

muon-systray-alone muon-systray-notification muon-systray-full

After creating the API and testing it with the dummy plugin, I ported the old apt-kded-module to it. Once I had then written the PackageKit plugin, I started to work on a notifier for it as well. :)

So that’s it, we now have an easy way to create a system notifier within Muon. :)

muon-systray-multiple

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Looks good :-)
The amount of text in the notification is very large for a notification – Consider just having “Security updates available” (unless the system is set to autoinstall – then no need for notification) or “System updates available”.

Comment by Pascal




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

