Boom1992’s Weblog


KGet Progress and the start of a new Package-Manager Frontend for Archlinux
March 24, 2008, 7:51 pm
Filed under: KDE | Tags: ,

Hey everyone!
Perhaps you don’t know me, but I’m KGet-Developer for ~6 Month now. I also wanted to blog for a long time now, but didn’t find time. Now we have holidays in Germany and I can start ๐Ÿ™‚

Today I want to tell you a bit about Development-Progress in KGet:
Urs and Nookie have worked together on a Webinterface. It’s pretty nice imo and there were already some Screenshots of it @ jarzebski.pl.
KGetโ€™s webinterface

In the meantime, Javier has made a lot of improvements to the TransferHistory, which was introduced directly after the 4.0.0-release. Before we only had a XML-Backend for it, but now you can choose between XML and SQLite (which is the default one). Also you can switch from a KCategorizedView (the one which is used in Dolphin and Systemsettings) to a normal QTreeWidget, in both variants you can choose between ordering by Host, Size and Date. This is still work in progress, but it’s already working very well here.
KGetโ€™s new history

In January I also joined the Development-Team of a new Package-Manager-Frontend for Archlinux. It’s called Shaman (previously QtPacman).
Shaman
The development is pretty fast (all this is work of 2 Month). The main development happens in the KDEMod-Forums: http://kdemod.ath.cx/bbs/viewtopic.php?id=502

With Dario (the other Shaman-Developer) I also started a new Project to edit Archlinux-Configuration-Files, called Arxin. No screenshot from this here, cause it’s a little bit … รคhh .. ugly at the moment…

This was my first Blogentry I every wrote, hope you enjoyed reading and please let me know your opinion about it ๐Ÿ˜‰

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

it’s great to see a summary of all the stuff that flashes by on #kget…

very nice improvements, keep up the good work!

Comment by Ant Bryan

Shaman, huh… Sounds good, even though commandline pacman is good enough for me. Arxin sounds even better, not having to find & edit the files is a good thing ๐Ÿ˜‰

Keep up the good work on KGet, it’s a great app!

Comment by jospoortvliet

Hey thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
@jos: Yes, we want to make it possible to set up your system without nano/vim/emacs ๐Ÿ˜‰
Anyway, if u have some config-files, you would like to see supported, list them here: http://kdemod.ath.cx/bbs/viewtopic.php?id=611&p=2

Lukas

Comment by boom1992

Shaman rocks! Keep up the good work.

P.S. Please make it not run as root by default. Sudo is our friend.

Comment by AurGlass

Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚
Yes, we’re working on that, but it’s not easy at all…

Lukas

Comment by boom1992

I plead ignorance with this question: Coming from the gnome/windows side of things, what is so awesome about KGet? What can it do for me to make my life easier? And how does having a web interface for it make it even more awesome? I don’t dispute the fact that it is awesome, I just don’t know how to use it, what it’s paradigm is, or much else about it. I certainly am curious though. Links to info, screencasts, and raw info appreciated!

P.S. – I’ve been looking at KDE for several months now, but I never really *got it*, KDE 4 looks amazing, but it also seems to me that there are KDE ways of doing things which I just don’t quite understand (KIO, etc.) Please help!

Comment by MikeMLP

Hey!
Webinterface: That’s pretty cool for advanced-users, they can control kget over the internet…

And I think KGet is cool, because:
1) It’s easy to use
2) It’s nice
3) It supports much ways to download things

KIO: As user, you don’t have to know it, it’s only for Programmers, which can download things inside a program with it…

Hope that helps you and you understand kde…

Lukas

Comment by boom1992

Looks very nice, but for the 2nd screenshot (TransferHistory), why not just make a toolbar (with text) of the buttons/search field? Would look much better IMHO.

Comment by Martin Stubenschrott

Ok I will forward that to Javier

Thanks

Lukas

Comment by boom1992

i want to say, thank you from the heart, from a user with very bad internet connexion, where a download manager is a real must have product.

Comment by mimoune djouallah

Hey Lukas! Glad you started your blog, thanks for mentioning me ๐Ÿ™‚
Cheers

Comment by Dario

Do you mind next time when taking screenies to set the app’s language to english? ๐Ÿ˜› Thanks!

Comment by Dread Knight

Sure ๐Ÿ™‚ I will try my best ๐Ÿ˜€ The problem is that Shaman automatically gets the Language from the System-Configuration, so I would either have to change the System-Language or to comment some lines in code ๐Ÿ˜‰

Lukas

Comment by boom1992




Leave a Reply

