Boom1992’s Weblog


Updates on KConfigEditor and Tribe
February 15, 2009, 5:29 pm
Filed under: KDE

Hey!
Long time no blogpost, but I thought it’s time to come back now :). First I want to thank everyone for the great feedback on the first Alpha of our Chakra-LiveCD. The next testing version is coming really soon…

Now back to the work I’ve done recently:
The KConfigEditor-Port is doing great! Alessandro already blogged about it some time ago, now I want to inform you about updates. Since he’s still busy with studying, I have ported the PropertyEditor to Qt’s famous Model/View framework ;). It’s not finished yet, but already doing great! Here a screenshot:

Another thing I’ve done was integrating Marble into Tribe, our shiny installer! With the help of SaroEngels and tackat you can select the timezone on a globe now. Credits also go to funkyou for the shitload of work he’s done on getting all the coordinates for those timezones! πŸ™‚

So far…

Lukas

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice to see you work on KConfigEditor. It’s a must-have. And also nice to see you working with Marble. This is a very nice use of the program. Will the work funkyou is doing go back into Marble’s SVN? I could imagine it’d be helpful in other use cases.

Oh, and I am really looking forward to the next alpha (or beta?). πŸ™‚

Comment by mutlu

@mutlu:
Well I doubt it is helpful for Marble. These are only the coordinates of most of the timezones we have… but could be nice for other Installers as well, indeed πŸ™‚
And yeah, it will be an Alpha πŸ˜‰

Lukas

Comment by boom1992

I like what you are doing to KConfigEditor. I looks great!

Comment by ffdjf

This is the first time I hear about KConfigEditor, it looks pretty sweet. I was actually thinking about making something similar in order to learn Qt, nice to see the “real deal”. πŸ™‚

Oh, I’m sure you’ve already thought about it, but a filter bar for the “main” list would be neat.

Comment by Hans

@Hans:
Yeah, a filter bar would be definitely something cool (and pretty easy to implement even ;))… on our TODO-List now πŸ™‚

Lukas

Comment by boom1992

Looks damn sweet! Never used Arch before, I’m a Kubuntu Jaunty user atm, but when Chakra becomes stable I’ll definitely try it out.

Comment by Dread Knight

@Dread Knight :

Just wait for aplha2.. there is no need to waiting for stable as alpha status is basicly just for installer (Tribe) the system after install will be stable rolling release archlinux πŸ™‚ and stable kdemod packages.

Comment by val-gaav




Leave a Reply

