Boom1992’s Weblog


Muon GSoC status report
August 22, 2013, 1:00 am
Filed under: KDE

I was one of the lucky ones and have been chosen by KDE to work on my project during the Summer of Code 2013. As it is only backend work, I didn’t feel the need to blog about it and thus stayed quiet. Now I finally have something to say, which might be relevant to users and other developers. πŸ™‚

One of the big chunks of my project consists of creating a PackageKit backend for Muon (Discover), to add support to other distributions than the currently supported apt-based ones. Luckily my mentor Aleix had ported it to a plugin based approach for backends some months earlier, so there weren’t many hickups for me.

This finally adds support for Distributions like openSUSE, Fedora and all others which supports PackageKit and provide the dependencies we will talk about in the next paragraph.

muon-packagekit-1 muon-packagekit-2 muon-packagekit-3 muon-packagekit-4

Even though it currently resides in a branch of our git tree, it should already work on all packagekit based systems, with one additional dependency: We heavily rely on AppStream-data and thus require the appdata.xml to be on the user’s system. So this also is a reminder to all distributions to implement their mechanisms to provide these files to their users! πŸ™‚

The other thing I recommend, is that the distributions packagekit backend should support FilterNewest which will make the startup faster and generally doesn’t require a hack I added just for distributions not supporting this. Take care that you also report the right filters in your backend, otherwise we cannot know what is really supported!

Finally I want to say that I’m very happy about how this and the rest of the project is shaping up. It’s refreshing to see that one is able to create a fixed project in a set timeframe, something which I always felt being hard to achieve! πŸ™‚

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh yeah !

Can’t wait for “the next step” now πŸ˜€

Comment by eyome

I will love to use Muon and akabei on Chakra!!!

Comment by Jun

[…] Part 1 I blogged about my progress while creating the Muon-PackageKit-Plugin, now I want to take another […]

Pingback by Muon GSoC Status Report 2 | Boom1992's Weblog




Leave a Reply

